Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a mutual belief among some educationalists that non-exam, artsy subjects such as music, drama, art and craft should be mandatory in the secondary-school curriculum due to improvements on the overall academic performance made by activities similar to these. From my viewpoint, this is a strongly agreeable statement.

First and foremost, art-based subjects can be regarded as relaxants for students. After many exhausting lessons of lengthy theories, pupils tend to wish to take their minds off their work by exercising their creativity, which can be obtained during periods of music, drama, art and craft. There have been numerous scientific proofs that support this, showing tremendous benefits occasional breaks between learning sessions have to one’s academic performance.

Secondly, a curriculum containing artistic activities may contribute to a student’s process of attaining knowledge. Art is a vehicle for voicing concerns and spreading humane feelings such as love and sympathy – for this reason, making art-based subjects a necessity for students can assist them in tackling the complex and profound nature of social studies and subjects of such sorts that require a high level of flexibility and emotional intelligence.

Finally, as a side result of the aforementioned point, students can form healthy friendships with individuals around them at school. Should one be flexible and sensitive enough to another’s emotions, he or she can easily make new friends and develop advantageous, long-lasting friendships. These relationships are especially significant because they help students build a pleasurable atmosphere at school as well as having inspirations and motivations for themselves, which play a huge role in ensuring the quality of their academic performance – a good environment allows good learning conditions after all.

In conclusion, I reckon it is irrefutable that non-exam, artistic subjects such as music, drama, art and craft are beneficial in various ways for a person’s overall academic performance; hence, it is compulsory to advocate the practice of art-based subjects in secondary schools alongside that of science-based ones to guarantee the best academic results for an individual.