Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art-based subjects are absolutely vital in school courses, as they can improve various qualities of juveniles. However, even if they are important, students should prioritise academic studies such as math and language.

Some advocates claim that subjects related to art improve the well-rounded performance of secondary students as they can not just study for academics. It is undeniable that these more abstract subjects can bring some benefits, for instance, adolescents can release stress when they draw. On the other hand, not every student has talent in art and wants to learn it. If art-based compulsory courses are added, students may feel stressed as they will have less time to do homework and have a busier schedule. Therefore, this may go against the initial aim of having more various subjects.

Moreover, learning more subjects may be money-consuming. Juveniles need to spend money on academic competition or purchasing textbooks if they are also forced to learn art-based subjects, they need to buy more things such as painters, costumes for drama, and so on. Besides, not every student will continue to study those subjects in the future, so the things they buy are a kind of waste.

Overall, high schoolers have busy timetables and demanding scores in academics, they should not be forced to participate in art-based studying. Some juveniles who want to become artists can learn those subjects voluntarily but not compulsively.