Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. Towhat extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people said that non-exam subjects such as music, drama, art and craft should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum related on believe that these subject’s activities can improve students overall academic performance. In my perspective, I disagree with this statement because some students are not interested in those could be feeling intense by learning these subjects and maybe affect others subjects such as math, science,biology and others.

Initially, I disagree that these subjects will be compulsory. They would be the subjects that students can learn and enjoy independently with happiness, not because of school force them to study on an unavoidable subject. In addition, the subject for example drama, instead of making students feel relaxed, it produces more anxiety and stress to them by thinking of the creative dialogue, the perfect action of actors, and the preparation for backgrounds it seems like they are nothing concerned about overall academic performance which means it’s only improved personal skills about drama. Furthermore, art is a subject that have various kind of it, meaning that it would have a lot of work activities to do, obviously that would be a disadvantage for the senior students who have to practice for the entrance exam.

On the other hand, I agree that music should be included in compulsory curriculum. It have various kinds of music which some kind coming with the audio waves, people believe that it would help brain relax when open it while doing the works. Moreover, music in kind of song can improve academic performance either for example the song about the periodic table, the lyrics combine between elements in the table and the original melodies to make students easily imagine and remember the elements.

In conclusion, I agree with music being included in the compulsory curriculum in terms of it can support relaxation and memorability for students while I disagree with drama and art that it should be the subject that optional for students to choose based on their interests and academic priorities.