What are the causes of crime and what could b e done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Crime is one of the shocking issues in every country, as the rate has been increasing at a staggering rate in recent days. There are several reasons that foster criminal activity in a particular economy. Among those, economic instability and unemployment levels participate in the front-runner stage, while other issues, such as mental disorder, drug abuse, and lack of community service, can be considered.

An unstable economic situation fosters irregular activities in the economy, which can impact the income levels of any citizen. By affecting the source of income, many people search for alternative options to earn money, even if it means resorting to illegal means, when it comes to a survival situation. Unemployment opportunities will force criminal-minded people to engage in illegal activities, which will bring money to feed their families. For instance, many Bangladeshi people are seeking jobs abroad due to a job crisis for skilled and unskilled people within the country. Another reason for the increasing crime rate can be easy money from illegal activities. Many drug dealers invest their money in young people to smuggle drugs. Since the young generation can be easily persuaded, they target especially jobless people. Moreover, they find out people who are in debt or badly need money. If we look at the international airports, many drug traffickers are arrested because of handling illegal products. Many of them are unaware of the luggage that was prepared by the drug dealer for them. Those people carry that baggage only for the money, with the hope for a single trip, and get stuck at the airport police.

For this reason, the government should ensure proper employment opportunities in the country where fresh graduates can find jobs. The government can invite foreign companies to invest in the country for creation of job opportunities in the country. Additionally, local organisations are rebated for the new job creation in the country. Despite the available jobs in the country, awareness and community service provide an incremental value to motivate residents not to engage in any crime. The local community can bridge the gap between organisations and job candidates by promoting a job fair in the particular area. By doing this, it will have a positive impact on people’s minds and thereby on the economy.

In conclusion, the crime rate cannot be diminished within the shortest possible time. The government and local community should identify criminal activities to reduce the crime rate and implement some preventive measures in the long run.