Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

International exchange visits, which take place at schools, seem useful for enough educationalists. In my opinion, advantages, such as knowing a different country and culture, will outweigh disadvantages these visits may have.

On the one hand, some believe that these visits may have adverse effects on students and their education. One point is that such exchange visits may cause the students to be less motivated. For instance, if the students from poor countries visit the schools of rich countries and see the opportunities there, it will lead to demotivation due to not having them in their own countries. Additionally,

On the other hand, exchange visits may give the pupils many chances in their lives. Firstly, it will help them to know diverse cultures and people, so in case they choose to continue their education in a foreign country years later, they will be familiar with a totally different environment. Secondly, it can be helpful to improve their language skills and their confidence while having a conversation with foreigners. For example, various languages, including English, are taught at schools, but they cannot speak them fluently. Therefore, living in a different country, even for a short time, will insist them on talking in required language. In addition, networking is one of the most crucial elements in today’s world and if we want to be successful and achieve a lot of things in our lives, networking will help us in this regard. That’s why if the students take part in an international exchange visit, it will help them have a good networking.

In summary, in spite of having several disadvantages, especially lack of motivation, I reckon that such international exchange visits will be more beneficial and thought-provoking for teenagers.