Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, approaches for providing education to children has significantly evolved. Visiting foreign countries for the enhancement of student’s education is widely popular among schools. In this essay, I will explain in depth the advantages and the disadvantages of this phenomenon.

There are clear and immediate merits of this trend for student as well as for teachers which are undeniable. The first and foremost is that it widens the horizons of knowledge for youngsters. Exposure of a new environment enables them to acquire information and skills from new sources along with providing intercultural exposure, as the culture of foreign country is entirely different. Additionally, it provides an opportunity for teenagers to rule out which professions has international scope and it enables them to study accordingly to secure better future. Furthermore, teachers can also learn new techniques of teaching and may incorporate in their style of teaching.

On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages which are inevitable. International exchange visits are expensive; therefore, it will be difficult for some students to afford it. Hence, it can be an unfair opportunity for some students. Moreover, it can put strain on economic resources of schools. As they can utilize funds of international exchanges on other valuable resources of school, such as for hiring or purchasing supplies for school.

To sum up, travelling to foreign countries for the betterment of student’s education is a valuable approach. However, there are certain disadvantages of this trend along with advantages which are necessary for the holistic development of students.