Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

International exchange visits allow for students who meet certain criteria to go to another country and stay there for a short while in a family’s house, whilst allowing for another student from the same house to come to their own country and study there. I believe that the potential disadvantages far outweigh the potential advantages

Foreign exchange programs were designed to help other students expand their own worldview. Helping people from less privileged backgrounds come to other countries for high quality education. It also allows those with access to such infrastructure the chance to experience events they would not have had they stayed where they were. In theory, it also provides educators the chance to refine their approach to teach people from various ethnic, racial and educational backgrounds.

One of the major flaws is found in the home lives of such children. Their success depends not only on their ability to learn but on the circumstances under which they will be living their lives at home. Getting used to new customs takes time. The big things are a little more obvious and take less time to get used to. The smaller things are a little harder to adjust to, for example, taking one’s shoes off before entering a home, using a bidet rather than toilet paper and even driving on the opposite side of the road in some cases. Another serious disadvantage is the extreme difficulty in social adaptation, the problem posed by making friends and finding people who not only like you but also respect and value one for who they are.

Such disadvantages can eventually lead to mental health problems. Mental health problems have been documented to be so debilitating to the point of causing severe symptoms. But, such problems are not as common . Pure academic skill is not always an indicator of skill, with many more soft skills needed to survive.

In conclusion, The potential benefits from such a program are vast, allowing for academic, social and cultural development but are not nearly as beneficial as the potential harm that could be caused. Mental health problems caused by bad guidance and lack of friendly socialization cannot be understated and are not worth the potential benefits.