Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

In order to motivate their employees some employers are coming up with ideas such as presenting money as a reward for those who are bringing outstanding innovations to the company. While it works to some extent, there believed to be many other ways that lead to more accomplishments among workers.

Monetary rewards seem very appealing and tend to motivate some of the workers to be more conscientious . However, in lots of corporations exceptional results are not achieved by a single diligent employee. In other words, there are also those in team who contribute significantly to the success of the project, and ignoring them whilst promoting others may negatively impact on their work contentment and productivity. Besides, relationship among staff members can deteriorate due to unfairness and injustice caused by the action.

To prevent this, managers and employers are advised to take more reasonable and sophisticated approach, such as rewarding an entire team rather than a single employee. Not only does this eliminates the feeling of being left out, but also fosters and enhances teamwork. Another clever approach would be giving a bonus to the most deserved worker selected by customers, instead of the managment department. It can be accomplished by conducting a survey and gleaning the votes of clients to narrow down the one who provides the best service. The fairness of such scheme can be proven if lokked at major companies such as Walmart and Target. Both of them utilize this unbaised method to indentify and reimburst their exceptional members.

To conclude, though promotion of hardworking employees pay off in many cases, rewarding the whole team or identifying an excellent worker through the help of customers guarantee to reap far more efficient outcomes.