Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

A group of employers are fond of keep in touch with their employees whenever they want, even on weekends. Although, through this way the both sides can be more connected together and more easily do their tasks, this may cause disruption for people who work in that company. In my opinion, this has more downsides than profits.

Being in contact with employees at all times, makes it easier and a lot faster for the boss to discuss about the problems and assignments with people who work for them. They can instantly inform employees about the issues. so, the problem can be solve very quickly with cooperating of both employer and employee. For example, if a company tackles a problem with their machines, they can call their engineer at the very first moments and fix the problem. Being able to remedy some issues in a good time is a beneficial way for companies.

In contrast, calling or messaging an employee at any time of the day and even on holidays, may disrupt the personal life of the worker and make them less interested in their jobs. Employees need some day-off to rest and spend time with their families to recharge their batteries for another work day, while, contacting them on their holidays annoys them. For instance, if someone is spending time with their family members, is less likely to have an interest to dedicate their time to work at that time. Contacting people on their holidays, makes them unhappy about that work.

In conclusion, the desire of some employers to call their employee on weekends, makes the working progress faster, but also, makes them feel more pressured and having no time left to rest. The advantages are less than the disadvantages.