Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is said that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. This could bring various benefits which outweigh the disadvantages.

One positive point is that the sooner children learn a foreign language, the sooner they can master that language. This is because they have more time to live with that language and practice even more compared to those who begin learning from secondary school. By doing this, they could come up with better pronunciation and speaking skills because most of the children who are in primary school want to speak and show off their abilities. However, this passion could not be seen in the secondary school children.

On the other hand, children who are in secondary school are usually more disciplined and hardworking than primary school children, which in this situation it easier for the teacher to teach them a foreign language. This is not to say that it is better for children. Although language learners in primary school have difficulty focusing and staying concentrated during class, with a proper teaching method and having a suitable time, the teacher could overcome this issue.

In conclusion, the demerits of teaching children a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school are overshadowed by its merits.