Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some professionals that proper testing should be extended to bicycle users in order to ensure safety in traffic. From my perspective, proper measurable assessment for cyclists should be conducted so as to mitigate poor behavior and eventual accidents on the road.

One reason to support the introduction of testing is that a lack of it alleviates bicycle riders from having any knowledge or responsibility when they go outside. As participants of public roads, the general idea of being careful on the road and following the rules of traffic is common sense. Therefore, the responsibility to uphold the law and avoid any potential damage ought to be enforced. However, it is observed that there are no current tests to assess whether cyclists will fully commit to that responsibility. This has resulted in an increase in bicycle accidents, in which reckless riders were often heavily injured, some even paid with their lives. With proper testing, there is hope that cyclists might understand why they should follow traffic regulations, thus reducing potential dangers to themselves and other people.

In addition, pushing for a measurable exam for bicycle users legitimizes the use of bicycles, with the hope of replacing motorcycles as the main form of personal vehicle used in urban areas. Currently, cities are facing two major issues. One issue lies in the social prejudice of bicycles not being taken seriously. Most adults perceive them as a training tool for children and will likely be discarded once they reach adulthood. The other issue is severe air pollution caused by toxic exhaust emitted by automobiles and mass transit. Giving bicycle users a proper test might force cars and motorbikes to give way to using a more environmentally friendlier alternative. A hopeful outcome is that as riding bicycles is legitimized and encouraged, the number of people using bicycles would increase, thus reducing air pollution in cities. In summary, proper testing for cyclists gives them the knowledge and responsibility to tread carefully in traffic, as well as legitimizing a solution to environmental issues in specific regions. For public safety and a greener living space, taking bicycles more seriously should be encouraged.