Some experts say that for road safety, cyclists should pass a test before going on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views as to whether cyclists should pass a test before cycling on public roads, as opposed to the idea that passing the test is a waste of time. I strongly believe that sitting a test for permission is time-consuming.

Proponents of this view, cyclists taking a test to be allowed on public roads cite various reasons to support their view. In a world where safety is more important than ever. If people take a test, they can learn the rules, which assists them in staying safe. As a result, the rate of accidents may reduce worldwide. In addition, a test can make cyclists more responsible, as they will understand the consequences of breaking traffic rules.

Despite these arguments in favor of taking tests, in my view they pale in comparison with the global problems. If governments spend money on test venues, they can waste both time and money, in turn, these funds should be contributed to other areas such as healthcare or education. Apart from this, not everyone can afford to take an exam, hence they may give up cycling and use public transportation. In addition, it may lead to a sedentary lifestyle, since people spend more time using private or public transport or doing other hobbies at home, for instance.

In conclusion, in spite of the views on the safety and responsibility, I subscribe to the idea that government should contribute money for other factors and allow people to use their vehicles on the public roads.