Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion. Topic

Even though the increasing amount of attention given to the idea that design has to be an essential part of construction has become more and more common among some people, others believe the functionality of the city is more important. From my perspective, both of these points of view are equally valid in the development of the city.

On the one hand, it is commonly argued by some groups of people that contemporary cities should be charming. The first argument they bring in order to support their point of view is that some undeveloped countries count on tourism. Compared to the past, when people did not travel around the world, with the help of technology, people can now travel everywhere, regardless of geographical distance. Beautiful and ancient buildings are always the key factor in attracting tourists’ attention. For instance, in the last 5 years, in Uzbekistan, tourism buildings have profited a million dollars. Another reason they claim this is the mood effect. Beauty can give people satisfaction, and seeing places where there are beautiful places is energizing and uplifting. Due to this mood effect, people are able to enhance their attitude before going to work.

From an opposite angle, despite the mentioned counterarguments, it is thought by others that the infrastructure of cities is more important. It is true mainly due to the fact that if road infrastructure is good for vehicles, it can decrease traffic jams. Owing to this benefit, air pollution is likely to be diminished, and the quality of the air will be more crisp. Another main reason is the amenities for people. Nowadays, the construction of buildings is creating more facilities for them. For example, in the 19th century, there were millions of homeless people, and the true infrastructure of buildings is now creating shelters for them.

In conclusion, although some people support the idea that design is a major way to improve the country, others advocate that functionality is an essential section rather than infrastructure. I would argue that both types of thoughts play an equal role in terms of importance.