Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time.Others disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether a country can grow economically while preserving its environment has been a deep question of contemporary times. While a considerable segment of the population argue that it is impossible to achieve both economic progress and environmental sustainability, others hold a more optimistic perspective, given the rise of green energy and waste management solutions. This essay will explore both views before reaching a reasoned conclusion that an environmentally-friendly economy is attainable.

On one hand, it is an undeniable fact that many countries have developed their economy at the expense of their environmental well-being. The rise of a variety of industries, farming, fishing, manufacturing, tourism, etc. has often meant increased cultivation of environmental resources and release of toxic emissions. More farm lands often means less wild forest. More factories mean more manufacturing waste into the ocean and air. The subsequent environmental degradation is undeniable, and is witnessed in many developed nations, such as the US and China.

On the other hand, it is also essential to recognize contemporary efforts in environment protection across economic sectors. Technological advances have facilitated the use of wind and solar energy in manufacturing, thereby reducing reliance on fossil fuels. Big corporations have promoted sustainable ways of conducting business. The Australian government, for example, has imposed strict laws on its local wildlife conservation while promoting tourism. Such endeavors have not only boosted the economy through visitors, but also effectively preserved its local environmental habitat in recent years.

Overall, balancing the economic gains and environmental costs have inevitably been a challenging problem to solve for many countries. Although the environmental impact is unavoidable, with more efforts in sustainable use of resources and management of waste in various economic sectors, an environmentally-friendly economic system holds great potential.