Some feel that it is impossible for a country to be economically progressive and environmentally friendly at the same time.Others disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Diverse opinions exist regarding whether economies should focus on environmentally friendliness or economic development. While some believe that an economy can’t do both simultaneously, opponents of this notion hold that this can be achieved. Personally, I reckon that economies can reach both objectives at the same time.

On the one hand, advocates of the approach that government must focus on one aspect often cite that economic prosperity comes at the expense of environment. It is evident that in order to be economically sound a country needs diversification in its industries, which can be hazardous for the nature. For instance, when a government decides to build factories in order to reduce unemployment, hence, increase its gross domestic product, it often results in high amounts of energy utilization, resulting in increased carbon dioxide emissions. Additionally, supporters of this idea conceive that environmental reforms frequently block programs aimed at enhancing the output of a country, such as restraining certain activities, which are crucial for profitable industries.

On the other hand, I am inclined to believe that governments can be both environmentally friendly and economically advanced. To clarify the point, certain government policies, targeted at harmful industries, prevent future capital expenditures. As an example, many governments around the world are implementing sustainable fishing farms in order to reduce peculiar effect of ordinary fishing at maritime activity, consequently, leading to cost savings for the future. Another persuasive belief is that policies, aimed at protecting the environment, create new business opportunities, as a consequence compensating for the loss of potential business activity.

In conclusion, while recognizing the diversity of opinions on whether governments can achieve eco-friendliness and economic prosperity, my analysis of the topic leads me to conclude that eco-friendliness and economic advancement can be achieved simultaneously. However, it is essential to evaluate policies for country-specific outcomes in order to ensure consistency in both fields.