Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

History as a subject is essential because our past can be a guide for our future action. Over the years, movies and tv shows have tried to incorporate this subject into their content. This form of media may or may not entirely accurate. However, I believe that learning about history through movies and tv shows is a creative way to expand one’s knowledge.

A film captures our attention with its dramatic visuals, hence, making learning seem more fun. A story about an important war of the past could be made into a movie with captivating characters and interesting storylines to follow. This form of presenting ideas is much more effective as people would be more likely to remember movie plots rather than boring textbook information. Furthermore, some people who are uninterested in history may just watch a historical drama for their favourite celebrity and still gain more knowledge of the past.

On the other hand, it can be argued that films and tv shows edit their content to make historical events seem more dramatic. This is done to hold the audiences’ attention throughout the show. At the end of the day producers and directors care more about selling tickets rather than presenting accurate information. This can have harmful effects as watchers may not be able to differentiate between real and fake events. For example, the box office hit movie ‘Titanic’ had everyone convinced that the story of the Jack and Rose was real even though no such lovers were on the actual ship.

In conclusion, movies and tv shows are a fun way to study history but they should contain warnings during the start to inform the audience if not all parts of the content are true.