Some feel that tourism endanger culture while others feel it is benefical

People have different views about whether tourism endangers culture or is beneficial. Although tourism leads to cultural conflicts and commodification of culture, I believe that it plays a crucial role in developing and enriching cultural heritage.

There are two main reasons as to why it is considered by many people that tourism could have a bad influence on cultural heritage. Firstly, tourism may give rise to cultural conflicts. While tourism may disrespect local customs, it brings about tension between local people and visitors. For instance, majority of conflicts in Registan Square originate from misunderstandings and disagreements among people, especially, Romani people and guests. Secondly, traditional heritage is common place in today’s world and many people make over-commercialize culture from that. This is to say, turning into a tourist hotspot generates income, fringe benefits. Through setting up cultural events by some people falls apart cultural identity and this historical buildings take away authenticity.

This, as a result, many people who are dependent on profiting from only tourism may face challenges during off-peak seasons or global crisis.

However, others, including myself, believe that tourist destination could have an important role to play in many people’s lives as role models. Initially, attracting foreign travelers leads to boost the local economy and this the local economic benefits are worth the overcrowding and hiked prices of the tourist season. This means, tourist attractions can be as a major source of annual income. For example, the economy of Monaco is based mostly on tourism and over 25,000 people visit every day, in order to see its beautiful tourist destinations, and this can foster the economy of city. Furthermore, trip-taking encourage cultural awareness. In other words, the local community can do gain language skills and other fringe benefits of cultural exchange. This, as a consequence, the vast of youngsters can try to learn international languages because of mass tourism.

In conclusion, despite some negative effects of tourism on cultural heritage, I believe that their positive impacts far outweigh that negatives.