Some feel that tourism endanger culture while others feel it is benefical

It is believed by some that the development of tourism may have a negative impact on cultural identity while others consider it as a great advantage. This essay supports the former view, yet both perspectives will be discussed below.

On the one hand, there is an opinion that emerging tourism poses a menace to local communities and their cultural heritage. In other words, when a large number of tourists visits a place, it often gives rise to the commercialization of cultural practices where authentic traditions are altered or undermined to cater to visitors and meet their expectations. It is difficult to argue against this view as long as tourism development tends to prioritize economic gains over the preservation of cultural heritage. For instance, in Bali, Indonesia, many traditional ceremonies and dances, originally held for religious and cultural purposes, have gradually been adapted to be performed on demand for tourist audiences. Such change has led to concerns among local citizens that the deeper sacred significance of these cultural customs is incrementally being lost, as commercial interests transform them into mere entertainment.

On the other hand, advocates for the positive externality of tourism emphasize its potential in fostering cultural exchange and economic development. Tourist industry facilitates communication between various populations, promoting high regard for cultural diversity, through exposure to different traditional practices. Moreover, tourism revenue often provides essential funding to maintain and preserve cultural landmarks, and support local artisans. To illustrate, in Morocco, the inflow of international visitors has enhanced the local economy in cities like Marrakech as well as financed the restoration of historic sites such as the Medina of Marrakech, a UNESCO world heritage site.

In conclusion, although some people reckon that tourism carries the potential of jeopardizing cultural traditions and heritage, others advocate that the travel industry also offers great opportunities for cultural preservation and economic growth. In my opinion, such aspects as thoughtful management and protective measures may reduce negative impact on local traditions while contributing cultural preservation.