Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people. Discuss both systems and give your opinion about which one you think is better.

Some government bodies provide financial support for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. Whereas in other countries, families are responsible for supporting these people. This essay discusses both systems and concludes why the latter is a more effective method.

Taking care of the elderly, disabled, and unemployed citizens is one of the primary duties of the government. These people can contribute to the development of society, provided they have appropriate support. For instance, in countries like Japan, most of the population contributing to the economy is old. This was only possible because of the government’s welfare schemes for old people. If unemployed, disabled, and old people are not provided financial assistance, a country would never economically grow. Moreover, good laws and regulations should be in place regarding the upliftment of such deprived people. If financial aid is not provided to such people, there would be an increase in the crime rate and poverty.

On the contrary, in some countries, families provide financial assistance to this section of people. It is their primary duty to look after the elderly people in their family. But this rule might not be widely applicable. For example, if an elderly person does not have a family, he or she would be abandoned for life. Additionally, there can be situations where, the family itself is not financially stable to look after those in need.

To conclude, I firmly believe that both the government and families can support the elderly or disabled citizens, but government laws and regulations have a greater role to play. The government must be held accountable for the welfare of the deprived section of society.