Some individuals feel that working from home, while of benefit to employees, is actually a drawback for employers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that working from home is overshadowed by drawbacks.

While I acknowledge the belief for this reason, I would argue that telecommuting proves to be indispensable.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that remote working brings major problem. The rationale thinking of this favor is the lack of cohesion among team members. Remote working can take away some of the personal contacts that we have with our co-workers. Therefore, we can feel more left-out than our on-site colleagues and this leads to alienation and a feeling of disconnect. In addition to this, employers may difficult to keep a record of employee’s hours. Some remote employees cannot fully focus on their work and may procastinate and be distracted by others factors such as their housework or their child. Thus, this leads to lost productivity, especially with employees who work on hourly contracts because there is no guarantee that paid time is spent on work-related activities. For this reasons, the belief that telecommuting brings downsides seems perfectly justifiable.

On the other hand, despite the fact that working from home brings disadvantages, it holds great significance. One key advantage is the productivity that the companies can reap from remote workes. When they are empowered to telecommute, they can feel trusted, thus take more proative steps that benefit the company. Also, without having a long commute, telecommuters can work more hours. Furthermore, companies can decrease overhead costs by allowing their team to telework. Companies can potentially restrict the amount of offic space neede for employees, so that they can lessen energy, resources, and water usage are needed in the office.

In conclusion, while there are good grounds for thinking that telecommuting puts foward demerits, it also have a vital role to play.