Some of the methods in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today's society. To what extend do you agree with this view?

Advertising is one of the most important part of marketing. In the past, companies had tried to take advantage with unethical and unacceptable ways when we checked with today’s perspective. World is getting a better place day by day even it still has own bad sides and today and I totally agree with advertising should be more clean than past.

Firstly, we should keep in mind that today’s sensitivities were gained with time and societal revelution. For example, 50 years ago, companies used African-American people for bad characters in their advertises. They always try to play with society’s perspective. Maybe you can remember, big cigarette company used doctors for advocating smoking is healthy. However, it becomes obvious with time that smoking is not healthy but it gives great harm to image of doctors.

Secondly, in the past times, companies were misleading customers with spesifications that product does not have. It was unethical and customers were frauted by them. Furthermore, because of lack of internet, people could not read customer’s reviews and many people needed to try product for fraut. In addition, advertising is not just about to being best-seller, it aims to fell down your competitior’s products. In the past, companies did that in unacceptable way that they said bad things about other products. For example, they said for detergant that it was cancerogen.

Finally, Thanks to humanity for all developments. Even world still has many problems, it solved some of them in a good way. I support that even though people made mistakes in the past, governments should rule them with legislation and be sure they will be all good.