Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the years, the death penalty has been a debatable form of punishment for those who commit crimes. Some argue that implementing the death penalty helps reduced the number of criminals while others strongly disagree. However, this type of punishment is considered to have both positive and negative aspects when it comes to reducing crime rates.

The death penalty is not a new form of punishment in the world. For instance, in the 1800s, France used the guillotine, where individuals who were convicted of serious crimes were executed by beheading. At that time, the death penalty was seen as an effective way to reduce crime, especially since it did not require a large budget.

In the modern era, people have become more aware of human rights. Many now view the death penalty as equivalent to taking an innocent life. As a result, modern society tends to seek alternative forms of punishment. One such method is what we now call restorative justice. This approach is not designed to punish the offender harshly but to rehabilitate them and help them become more humane.

In my opinion, the death penalty seems to be an old-fashioned penalty. It may reduce crime in certain areas temporarily, but not in the long run. Moreover, it can cause trauma within communities, especially for the families of those executed. It might make another opportunity for criminals to do more vile acts. Therefore, I believe the death penalty should not be considered a wise or humane solution to criminal issues.