Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In todays day and age, our society is divided on whether It is necessary to give the death penalty to a person who participated in a violent crime or its a practice of the past and is not required for modern society. In this essay, I will give the advantages and disadvantages of death penalty while also giving my opinion on the matter.

Advocates of death penalty say that its a simple case of justice meaning if you take a life you have lost your right to live as well. The people who do these crimes are not fit for the society so for the sake of the good of the society justice has to be done. Additionally it does provides peace and a bit of closure to the family of victim thus preventing any act of vigilanty crime. Although this might seem harsh but I do tend to agree with this opinion.

On the other hand , some people claim that death penalty is a punishment that doesn’t take into the account the environment in which the criminal was rased in. They believe that a lighter punishment can make these men repent and be a good contributor to society. Furthermore, courts can commit mistakes thus lack of death penalty will prevent loss of innocent lives a the hands of our flawed systems. This opinion ignores the feelings of the victims family , and hopes that people will repent , so it does seem to good to be true to me.

In conclusion death penalty might sound harsh but it is necessary, however it should only be given when there is not a shadow of doubt that the crime was committed by the defendant.