Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Animal experiments have always been a norm in medical sciences. However, in recent years some people have started to build a case against this. While others believe it is essential for medical advancements. In this essay we will discuss both point of views and discuss if there are any alternatives.

On one hand, animal experiments have always been at the heart of discoveries in medical sciences. Some animals have biological systems similar to the humans. For example, frogs have same respiratory system as humans and rats have similar nervous system. Thus, it makes sense to perform experiments on these animals instead of humans because experiment may fail and result in the loss of subject.

On the other hand, we should not be allowed to hurt animals for our own good. Recent researches have suggested that animals may also have feelings and some sort of consciousness which raises a moral dilemma. One way to think about this is , would we be performing such experiments if animals and humans shared the same language and they could communicate to us like we communicate with each other. Some people have also tried to look into the alternatives for this but none of them are good enough.

In conclusion, there are some valid concerns involved regarding animal cruelty in medical experiments but unfortunately it is necessary for the overall betterment of humanity as we do not have any alternatives as of now. Lets hope in future we can scientifically develop organisms similar to humans which can be used for this sort of experiments.