Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if young people study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree??

People say that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many individuals state that a nation will get merits from its students who learn in other developed countries. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement based on the following reasons.

On the one hand, there are some benefits that explain why people believe this statement. In developing countries, their education has not enhanced as well as developed nations, such as the U.S or Canada, while these countries have invested a massive amount of money in education. Students, who study abroad, can have more chances in attending more professional courses, broadening their knowledge and skills. To be more specific, students can help develop their countries when they are coming back with new technology and knowledge which they learned overseas. Moreover, students can learn better mindset from developed nations. This is an important factor that helps a nation’s economy and technology to thrive. For instance, many students who study abroad can teach their mindset to their friends, making a big impact on the way their friends study and work.

On the other hand, studying abroad can have some disadvantages for nations. Firstly, with the enormous amount of money that is spent for study abroad, these students are likely to stay in developed countries after finishing their education courses. This can result in the loss of highly-educated work labor, making some fields, such as engineering, lose talented workers. For example, some nations do not have enough good offers for these people, so they normally choose to stay foreign countries. Secondly, several pupils have a passion for other countries’ culture, making them become less interested in their nations’ traditions and forgetting their hometowns. To be more specific, some students prefer living in countries where they study higher education rather than their nations, and put effort in getting a certification to live in these places.

In conclusion, although learning overseas can offer many merits for a nation’s development, it can lead to the loss of talented workers or their love for their hometowns. Because it depends on the willingness to return home or still stay overseas.