Some people believe that capital punishment should never be used. Others believe that it could be used for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although some think that there should be no bad consequences for crimes because people need to be treated well to make them stop doing illegal activities, I would say that punishment is essential. It helps to prevent all types of crimes by forcing to think about the end result of it.

On the one hand, having not very hard punishment will help criminals realize their mistakes and reflect on this issue to prevent them from breaking the law. Relaxed and decent life conditions for people who have done something awful help them to feel welcomed, which will put them on the track to changing themselves. For example, in Norway, prisons do not have regular cells and tough guards. They have open doors, free space, and great diversity of things to do. Also, a very important thing is that they have psychologists working with prisoners to make them more integrated to normal life when they will leave the institution.

On the other hand, less people will do crimes because they will lose time spent in the institutions. They will think twice whether a thing they are willing to do is actually worth it. For instance, many people who have families tend to avoid crimes because they have a lot to lose. In other words, they will miss time when their children grow or will not be able to provide for their loved ones. In my opinion it is the most effective method. It helps to avoid thieves, killers, and other criminals doing their jobs from the start.

In conclusion, some choose the path of treating outlaws with respect to change them entirely. However, I agree with second opinion that they should be in fear of punishment to stop this activity at its roots.