Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

A streaming educational system is considered a better option rather than mixed classes at secondary schools. From my perspective, this system has more drawbacks than benefits. Although in some cases divided classes can help the most gifted children to enhance their knowledge in certain subjects, streaming is likely to lead to an increase in social inequality in the future.

On the one hand, thanks to the advanced level of learning science and other fields, a number of the most intelligent students are able to perfect their skills much faster than in ordinary classes. It is a widespread situation when studious people get access to more complex academic literature and qualified teachers in special groups for clever children. Furthermore, being among the most talented boys and girls facilitates the common high level of knowledge due to the competition. As a result, those ones who are gifted obtain more opportunities for further development.

On the other hand, streaming can be seen as an unfair practice as it supposes the division of children based on their intelligence. As it was mentioned above, the strongest children continue to improve their expertise because they acquire all necessary resources for this, while less gifted students do not have these advantages and are likely to stay at the same level of development or even degrade. Since such a difference between several categories of pupils forms from an early age, over time, this gap between people may increase significantly.

To sum up, divided classes have both pros and cons. In my opinion, disadvantages of this practice outweigh advantages because I believe that possible growth of social inequity is more meaningful than potential benefits for the most intelligent children.