Some people believe that children have the freedom to make mistakes, while others argue that adults should prevent them from doing so. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The majority of people believe that children tend to make mistakes, and it is a normal part of growing up, while others have the opposite opinion which is based on the idea that parents should protect them from doing so. I completely agree with the first point of view, but the second idea is also valid.

On the one hand, the freedom of children’s choices could build the strong preparation for entering adult society because making decisions by theirselves creates a sence of fearlessness and they are less afraid of potential challenges in the future. For example, statistics show that 70% of people whose parents allowed them to make some errors and did not always choose the correct way are more confident now. Therefore, it shows how significant it is to give the right to choose.

On the other hand, giving children latitude of choice sometimes could be dangerous for their health, and in some cases, even deadly. For instance, nowadays, many hospitals receive young patients whose parents failed to expain basic safety rules for them. As a result, the children could poison themselves, fall down from heights or suffer other serious accidents. Thus, the adults have to find a balance between freedom and safety, which is often lacking nowadays.

To sum up, the freedom to make mistakes could be useful in upbringing and developing of children’s self-confidence, but it is necessary not to forget about explaining simple rules. Hence, as I mentioned earlier, I strongly believe that the best approach is to give children freedom.