Some people believe that children should be able to choose what to study in school from early on. Other people think that most of education should be guided and be based on what is useful, regardless of a child's preferences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, some people want to leave more freedom to children, allowing them to choose what to study in school based on their preferences. However, others believe that is not fair to let children choose only what they want to study, since education should be useful for them rather than just enjoyable. In my opinion, children do not have the right maturity to understand what is right to learn, thus the school system should remain as it is.

Firstly, during the first years of school, children have to attend several classes in which they need to memorize as many notions as possible, even if most of them could be forgotten after some years. For this reason, if education were focused more on the preference and potentiality of the single child, they could become more specialized in a particular subject, growing their knowledge during that time.

On the contrary, every information learnt during school could become useful for their global education. For example, although many children do not appreciate math and they would prefer to avoid studying it, it represents one of the principal subjects since it is an important tool not only for school but mainly because it makes them able to reflect and it could be applied in several fields.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that during childhood is necessary to surround young students with different information that they could use in their lives and only when they become able to think independently they should choose what knowledge to expand.