Some people believe that children should spend more time learning practical skills (e.g., cooking, budgeting, basic first aid) than academic subjects at school. Others believe academic subjects are more important.

It is argued that schools should teach students more of practical skills such as cooking and budgeting rather than academic subjects. While others believe academic subjects are crucial. While practical skills are needed in daily life, I think that academic subjects prepare students for career advancement and intelletual development, although both are essential.

On the one hand, learning academic subjects facilitate students to develop skills that are useful for a prospective job. Subjects such as Mathematics, English and science assist learners to develop problem solving skills, critical thinking and ability to carry out challenging tasks. Furthermore, it gives them the ability to work with a team. Secondly, graduating with high grade is important to be able to practice fully in a given profession. For example, medical doctors are required to ace their courses in medical school before practicing fully in this profession.

On the other hand, practical skills such as cooking and financial management enable students to make informed decisions. These skills help them to be independent in their daily lives, thereby raising better individuals who do not rely on others for survival. For instance, an adult who has financial literacy will make thorough research before making investment. Additionally, practical skills can save them from fraud and bad investments.

In conclusion, I think that it is vital for students to learn both skills. It is beneficial and significantly shapen them into better adults. Practical skills teaches them independence while academic subjects prepares them for prospective career opportunities. Schools should incoporate and integrate these skills in the learning curriculum in order to fully equip them for the future.