Some people believe that children should spend more time learning practical skills (e.g., cooking, budgeting, basic first aid) than academic subjects at school. Others believe academic subjects are more important.

Some individuals believe that practical skills play a crucial role in learners’ lives, while others believe that academic curriculum is more important. Although, school courses are vital to secure high paying jobs, I believe that schools should focus more on teaching students practical skills.

On the one hand, proponents who believe that practical skills are very important argue that they help students stand in this competitive job market. This is mainly because practical skills not only prepare students for their better future but also make them understand the value of learning new skills, which leads to a students’ holistic development. For example, according to a study conducted by Cambridge University, learners who focus on learning practical skills along with their academics are more likely to achieve financial independence at an early age compared to those who solely rely on theoretical knowledge. Therefore, teaching practical skills are one of the best approaches to train students for a quality life.

On the other hand, others who claim that academic subjects are more effective believe that they enable students to get a high professional jobs. This is primarily because recruiters often prefer candidates with high academic scores and hire them based on their theoretical knowledge, making academic courses necessary. For example, high-tech companies, such as Google and Meta, choose individuals who have strongs command on data structures. Consequently, mastering academic subjects are a powerful tool that benefits students by preparing them for a bright future.