Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a number of people believe that children study all subjects in academic settings I would agree that they should concentrate on subjects in which they excel or have great passion

On the one hand, studying all subjects at school is necessary for children Firstly, studying all subjects helps children become well-rounded people. For instance, exposure to a diverse range of subjects such as mathematics, history, geography and science can broaden students’ knowledge base and enhance their problem-solving skills. By engaging with various subjects, students develop critical thinking abilities that can be applied to different areas of their lives. Secondly, studying all subjects aid students to explore their innate talents. By being exposed to diverse subjects students have the opportunity to identify their strengths and weaknesses. For instance, a student initially found mathematics challenging but after being exposed to many different subjects, they will realize what subjects they are really good at. Furthermore, studying all subjects helps equip students with a well-rounded skill set that can benefit their future career.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why I believe that students should concentrate on subjects they find interesting. The first reason is that it can develop a passion for learning. Through studying favorite subjects, students find the lessons interesting. From there, they spend all their time immersing themselves in books that are not boring, leading to better academic performance. Another reason is that students have better understanding of the subject. By focusing on one subject, children have more time to investigate and explore in-depth knowledge, Therefor leading to higher academic performance and better career prospects.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that they ought to concentrate on the subjects they enjoy and excel at.