Some people believe that comprtitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that competitive sports should not be involved in school programme.

This viewpoint can be understood to some extent due to some issues that might be developed in competitive atmosphere in school. The risk of burnout and stress can be one of examples, because in these types of sports the tension level is always on top. Moreover, seeing someone who is better than the student himself may lead to jealousy or anxiety.

While this perspective offers a compelling starting point, its applicability can be nuanced by further considerations. The students taking part in competitive sports often end up with not only advanced physical skills, but also academic ones inasmuch the discipline is improved during the process. Another prime argument could be the capability of overcoming the failures. Competitive sports teach adolescents how to build a resilience. This feature is highly appreciated in a big amount of spheres, what means it will be much easier to get a job in the future. Not only this skill might be developed, but also strategic thinking, managing pressure, collaboration and building camaraderie. These factors cannot be ignored ,as without these competitive team or individual sports, students will become prone to have deficiency of fundamental skills enumerated earlier.

To crown it all, irrespective of that competitive sports have own drawbacks, they should not be underestimated and deleted from the school curriculum, as by doing this schoolchildren will be deprived of a chance to become viable and socially oriented individuals in the future.