Some people believe that computers and the internet will eventually replace teachers in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays many individuals assume that the rise of modern technologies such as artificial intelligence, new computers and robots could lead to teacher unemployment. However, I strongly disagree with this statement. Even though ai is able to convey information in an easy and engaging way, mentoring by humans is a vital part of the curriculum.

Firstly, artificial intelligence has developed a lot in recent years and became a significant part of the educational process. For instance, studying is far more convenient now in comparison with 10 years ago when people had to spend more time on the internet in order to explore information for their projects. Artificial intelligence companies already declare that their network is able to be a language, math or even PE teacher. Similarly, robots and modern computers can provide schools with an engaging way of conveying new information for schoolers. Although studying with a human tutor would be more effective, AI is a priority for people who cannot afford human training. Consequently, AI, robots and new computing machines would be suitable instruments for modern educational institutions.

Although modern technologies are popular and widely used, I assume that they will never be able to replace teachers. As they can’t be a mentor who is always close to help people or provide emotional support. For example, a teacher’s duty is not only to make sure that their students understand new material but also how comfortable they feel in that process. Especially in schools where many children are going through community issues such as bullying or gaslighting, which, unfortunately, sometimes can lead to mental disorders among minors. Mentors can prevent it with a short conversation with the children or warn parents of developing depression. Although modern technologies can contribute a lot for schools and students, making it more convenient to do research or to plan the next lesson, human teachers will never be substituted by them.

Taking everything into consideration, cutting edge technologies are likely to become an instrument. Although it is undoubtedly true that mentors are vital for students and can’t be replaced, AI can be beneficial for both teachers and learners.