Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a widespread belief that modern society is becoming consumerist, a condition that will increasingly generate revenue for the market and the government in the form of taxes; however, it has negative consequences. I believe that this habit has a bad effect on the future.

Although people tend to spend money increasingly on goods, giving more to the seller than to the government in taxes, this situation also has the potential to create jobs for others, thus reducing unemployment. For example, people like to buy on the marketplace items such as clothes, food, drink, and furniture. Here, the stock is easy to spend, which opens up jobs for others. In this case, the amount of tax the government receives on the item will be higher.

However, consumerism has negative consequences because people tend to use things not proportionally but only to follow their desires, driven by the pursuit of a certain type of lifestyle. Nowadays, this is an underlying assumption. For example, people buy mineral water in disposable bottles. In this case, they may buy it every day, so the amount of rubbish increases significantly. My solution for this situation is for people to use eco-friendly items and develop new habits of recycling. For example, using refillable water bottles in public areas.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that individuals need to be mindful of their spending habits and not blindly follow the habits of others. They can then adopt recycling as a new habit and carefully consider its effects on the future.