Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that the rapid advancement in the technological field will bring a wide range of benefits to human life in the foreseeable future. Others, however, show great nervousness that people are not fully equipped with the indispensable skills and knowledge to overcome a world where computer-based technology has become far more knowledgeable than human beings. From my perspective, I think both views need to be analyzed carefully.

On the one hand, it is true that developments in the field of technology and robots will have a positive impact on our lives. First and foremost, artificial intelligent robotics will have emerged in the near future to supplant people in handling manual jobs. This is inevitably going to ease the burden on employees and also be a helping hand for them in some particular tasks. No longer need to take over manual jobs like heavy lifting, it will definitely bring considerable benefits to their lives and also well-being, both physically and psychologically. Secondly, the landscape of education is witnessing a revolutionary change with the advent of robotic teachers, reshaping traditional teaching and learning methods. Being able to take over all of the teaching tasks, robots will have completely replaced teachers by the end of the century. Thanks to the hi-tech algorithms, robots can immediately point out the weaknesses and also aptitudes of each student. They could, therefore, fix their fundamental mistakes and excel themselves.

On the other hand, the concern that computers will make human laborers redundant is valid to a degree. As any physical or mental limits do not hamper them, they are able to undertake most tasks at a rate faster than humans. Realizing these advantages, many companies have begun to steadily replace human workers in manufacturing lines to improve efficiency in their production process. For instance, self-checkout machines have been introduced in convenience stores in some developed nations which minimize the time people used to need to spend on purchasing customers’ items. However, this could also be seen as a negative impact on the job market for less skilled employees, especially students who are looking for a part-time job.

In conclusion, despite the legitimate concerns related to computers curtailing the need for human workers, I contend that this phenomenon is a positive development since computers are less susceptible to errors generally. Once human beings are aware of the challenges computers pose, they can take action to control the risks presented by such disruptive technologies.