SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT DIGITAL RESOURCES WILL PUT AN END TO THE EXISTENCE OF LIBRARIES, WHILE OTHERS THINK THAT LIBRARIES EXIST FOR A CAUSE, AND TECHNOLOGY WILL SUPPORT LIBRARIES RATHER THAN ELIMINATE THEM. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

In contemporary times, some people opine that online resources will pose formidable threats to the availability of libraries, while others contend that libraries still play a pivotal role in life and that technology will be a powerful ancillary rather than abolishing them. My essay aims first to analyze the former perspective, then to elaborate and simultaneously assert my support for the latter.

On the one hand, libraries are at risk of being replaced by digital materials due to geographical and financial barriers. Visiting physical libraries requires us to accommodate sufficient time and budget, which often discourages readers from doing so, and they choose e-books as an alternative. For example, instead of going out of creature comforts at home and spending on entrance fees to the libraries, some readers can turn to digital resources, saving a considerable amount of money and effort. Moreover, virtual libraries in the digital space can offer a larger multitude of genres and types of books compared to physical ones. In reality, the Internet is a boundless haven for information and books, covering different genres ranging from science fiction to classical novels. Meanwhile, libraries are a real-life space, which means that they can only encompass a limited number of books. Therefore, individuals may give priority to digital resources over libraries when it comes to their choices of diverse categories.

However, there’s little likelihood that technology will be the culprit for the diminishing of libraries. One of the predominant reasons for the continuation of libraries is the need for physical reading to heal our mental health. Reading traditional books can provide us with a pause for thought and time for decluttering our minds as we stay away from electronic devices. This feature not only brings benefits to our psychology but also gives us a new lease of life when we enter the distinct vibes and ambience of reading. To illustrate, in us possibly lies a unique feeling of peace and thought-provoking moments once we start to lose ourselves in the book’s universe. Furthermore, in technological terms, it can facilitate a reading experience in an up-level way. Digital advancements can be incorporated into libraries, presented in the list of books or seats available, which would consequently conserve valuable time and effort in reading decisions. Social networks also serve as an effective tool for promoting libraries to reach a larger audience, in turn contributing to preserving reading culture.

In conclusion, while it is supposed that libraries will be jeopardized by online resources, it is of importance that libraries exist for the sake of our mentality, and technology, instead of being a hindrance, will potentially support libraries in the long run.