Some people believe that educational success depends on good teachers. Others think that it is dependent on the attitude of the students. Discuss both of the views and give your opinion.

A significant proportion of the population hold the belief that the attitude of pupils is the main factor contributing to their success, whereas, others claim that it is dependent on good teachers. While both viewpoints are valid, I personally lean toward the former.

On the one hand, there are convincing reasons why some people argue that good teachers are the dominant element to achieve academic success. It is undeniable that with the guide from a good teacher, the pupils can enhance both their intellectual and practical horizons which means that being in an academic place, the student can obtain much more than theoretical knowledge such as problems-solving skills, budget managing, time managing and so on. Moreover, pursuing academic programs opens up a wide range of opportunities for students to participate in some extracurricular activities that are not offered by others. For instance, students can take part in some charity activities, sports competitions where they can gain a myriad of values.

On the other hand, another group consider the students’ effort and talent as the main reason leading to their success. Research findings confirm that no matter how excellent the teachers are, if the students do not cultivate their self-motivation and dependance, all effort become meaningless. Therefore, they must depend on themselves and try hard to achieve higher qualifications and better job opportunities. This is also worth mentioning that those who did not come to school or dropped out of schools still reach the success. Take Steve Jobs for an example, with the desire of technology, he had early dropped out of school but still became one of the most successful entrepreneurs in the world.

To conclude, despite the fact that teachers play indispensable role in students’ path, their achievement will depend on themselves. Thus, the students have to be self-disciplined to achieve their intended goals.