Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, arguments on whether higher education attendance should be waived in tuition fees, irrespective of student’s background, have emerged as a topic of interest. Although free attending university would have some negative influences on the local government coffers, the returns of this practice far outweigh the downsides.

Regarding the advantages, higher-education enrollment determinedly appears to benefit both individuals and society. On the individual level, students firmly can expand their knowledge horizon and open their social relationships. In fact, without financial support, disadvantaged students cannot utilize their own potential academic ability and later may negatively impact their future such as hardly to pursue for a job. On the community level, the employment market filled with qualified employees would be more dynamic and productive. This may act as a precursor to not only a thriving economy but also a civilized society.

However, there are disservices from the sustainable economic standpoint. At present, the academic performance is questionable at best. The consequence would be highly harmful as students shall less focus on achievement and study perfunctorily. Additionally, some argue that more support in education from the government induces a higher financial burden and lower welfare in the future. For example, higher education must be supported with a higher state budget for high-level human resources, such as scientist for empirical scientific research.

In conclusion, despite the cost of higher educational support is highly justifiable thanks to its advantages to all the people in a particular group or situation. Investment in education is worth considering from a public policy perspective when the living and intellectual standard reaches some extent.