Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students' performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, a large proportion of people think that judging students’ abilities by taking traditional exams is inappropriate and should be replaced by regular assessments. In this essay, I am going to explain both perspectives before presenting my own opinion.

In terms of traditional exams, I believe that they are helpful to judge our quality of knowledge, and they help to improve our skills. To explain, with this method, every student is examined by the same tools, so there is no way of discrimination. Traditional exams always keep us engaged with regular studies and help us learn new information in order to answer common questions on exams; as a result, students can enhance their storage of knowledge. Moreover, when the final exams get close, students start to revise a huge syllabus for reinforcement.

In contrast, continuous assessments also have importance in student life. Basically, it is a kind of long-term process, so students don’t feel any extra pressure like they do with traditional exams. They have to do practical work, complete assignments, and attend classes regularly. It helps students to maintain a balanced student life. For instance, in many developed countries like Japan, they always focus on practical work instead of gaining traditional bookish knowledge; as a result, they provide world-class education to all.

In conclusion, I think continuous assessments are the best way of learning because, in this way, students don’t have to face any pressure for exams all at once, and it will build up their practical skills. It is notable that it will also be helpful for their future careers.