Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway line to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is highly disputed whether budget should be allocated on public transportation or boulevard construction is a more advantageous suggestion. This essay will shed light on both aspects of this investment before jumping to a conclusion.

On the one hand, many claim that road extension is a competent alternative lest traffic flow eases. For one thing, novel and broader highway system is inadequate to cope with high volume of traffic likewise alleviated vehicular queuing. Precisely, no sooner had metropolitan area expanded than city dwellers would raise a demand for prolonged commute, meaning the lengthy delays. A prime example of this took place in Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam, where not only traffic jam but also vehicle collision has always been regarded as a top priority, thus the governmental bodies invested in upgrading inter-regional traffic connections including road capacity increases and transport infrastructure enhances. Consequently, such buildout [] motorway safety and spaces for vehicle owners, aiding vehicle owners operating smoothly during rush hours.

On the other hand, it is said that building a system of public transit, for instance underground and surface railways, would be a finer approach. Notably, this advance is surveyed to be more practical for yielding a multitude of beneficial effects for urban environment as well as the indigenous. This is owing to the fact that metropolises are often in shortage of space and unavailable for road widening. Moreover, apart from those who don’t have personal means of transport, vehicle owners not only experience several hours of being jam-packed on street but also expend exorbitantly for annual road tax, maintenance charge and fuel costs. Besides that, these areas could confront environmental degradation and overexploitation of natural resources due to exhaust emissions and fossil fuel overutilization. In other words, the aforementioned concern will be settled if the authorities determine in developing train and subway lines. This is evident in the case of Tokyo, renowned for taking the lead in metro system and being punctual, has been invested in technological green innovations and holds the world’s record for its speed and capacity. On a closer examination, specialists also found 8.5 million inhabitants used this network to commute daily, hence time saving and air quality improving.

In conclusion, there are contradictions between building train and subway lines and expanding roads so as to lessen traffic congestion. However, I am of the opinion that the former one in terms of environmental protection.