Some people believe that governments should have access to people's mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A vigorous debate has emerged regarding whether governments should have access to people’s telephones, including their messages and phone calls. Two contrasting parties appear: those who are in favor and support the case for safety reasons, and opponents who see it as a privacy violation.

Cell phone nowadays hold a significant importance in a person’s life as it have facilitated communication, thus, he is accessible anywhere and anytime. Some people believe that we are safer when the government has access to their mobile phone call records and messages. For instance, since the authorities have all the information about who reached out to you and when, and vice versa, they won’t be a target of threats or harassment; otherwise, the criminal would be identified within the hour. Moreover, the country would follow everyone’s movements, as a result, traitors are less likely to act and spies would be caught.

In contrast, opponents are highly against the idea, as looking into people’s lives is highly inappropriate, and they deserve to have some privacy. In fact, having access to someone’s phone is like looking at their open book lives, while they wish to keep things to themselves. The least they can do is actually get the person’s permission, or even set boundaries on what is accessible and what’s not.

To conclude, the government’s access to people’s phone call records and messages has benefits and drawbacks. Yet, to establish a balance between the two I think that the mpst appropriate thing to do is to ask for their permission and set boundries and even sign an NDA in order to protect people’s privacy.