"Some people believe that governments should impose strict regulations on social media platforms to protect society from misinformation and harmful content. Others argue that such regulation threatens freedom of expression and democratic values. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

In today’s world, it is often debated that there will be control over social media. Some people argue that internet applications should be restricted over misuse and harmful content for the protection of society, while others believe that freedom of expression and democratic values can be threatened by these kinds of rules. This essay discusses both views and opinions.

On one hand, if states apply restrictions on social media, it will help him against catching criminals which are actively harming their country. For example, in Pakistan, there is an introduction of firewall few years ago. As a result, the leadership can keep an eye on every single activity running in the country. Further, rules and limitations can have positive impact on every day’s life because such as, consumers who are under 18 could have access to those sites which are restricted for them. For instance, there are some applications in America which are banned by government like Tiktiok.

On other hand, applying restrictions on social media can help the enemies of country to make people against the state. For example, there is a raw agency working as a secret agent in Afghanistan. In past years, the use of internet is almost restricted in it. Raw agency use this for their goal and make people against their government. As a result, the leadership have to resign from their position and leave the country. Another reason is that if government does not implies control on internet then anyone can misuse of it due to which the nation of that country do anything freely which is dangerous for the government. For example, Pakistan become no 1 in the lists of those countries whose watching porn.

In conclusion, many people wanted that government should restrict social media while according to other’s opinion, it will cause threads. I believe that government should implement some restrictions but in the limits so as a result, it should have the positive effects.