Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Indubitably, shelter is important for everyone, whether it is a human being or an animal. Therefore, some individuals argue that having a shelter is a fundamental human entitlement. I partially agree with this statement, and various reasons for this will be highlighted in the upcoming paragraphs.

To embark upon, housing is essential for human dignity and well-being. In other words, it not only provides individuals shelter and privacy but also a safe environment to live in. As a result, people are less vulnerable to a range of social and health issues. Besides this, houses protect people from bad weather conditions. For example, during heavy rain or snowfall, people can save themselves from allergies by staying at houses because these extreme conditions can be fatal for them. Moreover, people live a prosperous life. People maintain hygiene because they have space to take a bath; otherwise, the accumulation of unhoused people on the roadside would lead to a mess.

However, there are practical challenges to treating housing as a basic human right. For example, the demand for housing far exceeds the supply, and private markets often fail to provide affordable options for low-income individuals. What is more, housing is also subject to market dynamics because housing prices are determined by supply and demand. Thus, housing interventions may imbalance the country’s budget, which could lead to other problems like inflation. On the top, masses clear the virgin forests to build houses. Ergo, this could harm wildlife.

To conclude, although there are some challenges in making houses accessible to everyone, it ensures a safe, adequate, and private environment for individuals.