Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that countries to have an opportunity to host international sporting events is such an honor. However, hosting a worldwide festival could also be a burden for the country. Thus, I would like to share both views by providing measurement data from the issues early on.

On the one hand, operating sporting events would be a great chance to advertise the country. Especially for developing countries, it’s an uncountable value to show their unrevealed strength through broadcasting international sports events in their country. There are some countries succeeded in promoting the beauty of nature through worldwide events.

On the other hand, becoming the hosting country could end up with a huge debt. The cost to host an international event is unmeasurable. According to news from CNN, there are some developing countries still facing debts from the Olympics for more than five years. Also, the event lasts for only a few days, so the tourism industry sparks for a few days or weeks, while the period to prepare for the event and the period to pay back the debt after are not even similar. Furthermore, the event is easily forgettable compared to the expense they invest. Most sporting events are repeated in every certain period, and people generally don’t remember the country hosted before when the new events begin.

To sum up, even though operating sports festivals could bring some beneficial effects, the negative effects that a country should carry after are much bigger such as huge debt. Therefore, I insist hosting such sporting events would cause a much bigger negative effect.