Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language as early as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Learning a language is one of the crucial skills that should be sharpened by everyone. Therefore, some people think that it is a good idea to teach children to learn a foreign language in the early age. I agree with this notion for some reasons that will be elaborated more below.

On the one hand, some people believe teaching children foreign languages as soon as possible will make children not know their mother language. It means that in the early stage, they have to focus on the local language. For example, one of my friend’s nephews cannot speak Bahasa because he learns English first. Therefore, He has difficulties to speak with his relatives and friends.

On the other hand, Learning a foreign language prepares children to have a better life especially when learning English. That way they will acquire many opportunities when they grow old. For example, If they want to study abroad, they have to have English proficiency. While it will not be gained by those who do not learn English. Another advantage is that it can broaden children’s knowledge, by this we mean that by studying it, they can learn about the culture in other countries because language is part of a tradition. Thus in my opinion, it is better to teach them other languages in a golden age.

In conclusion, Although nurturing toddlers to speak a foreign language has a drawback, it seems to me that it is more beneficial for them to enlarge their insight and prepare them to face the real world.