Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language as early as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some argued that having the ability to speak more than one language should be taught from a young age. In favor of this statement, there are two main reasons for teaching children a new language, namely they learn faster than most adults and a better future.

Children have the ability to learn faster than adults. Their brains are designed to digest new knowledge in such short times. Not only that, they also have better long term memory to learn the language and use it for their own good. If the parents start speaking, for instance, two languages in a house, their mother tongue and the foreign one, in the next few years, the children will be fluent in both languages.

Furthermore, In a globalised world, the younger generation are expected to have demanded skills. One of them is having the ability to speak more than one language. If from an early age, they have this ability, they can use it for better opportunities and options in the future. For example, if there are any exchange programs for students offered, this puts the children at an advantage. They can register right away. Exchange program is a good opportunity to connect people from all around the world. This will guarantee such a bright future.

In conclusion, it is beneficial to learn another language the sooner the better. The development and future perspective clearly supports this idea. Moreover, it is important to balance the learning techniques used for the teacher or the parent so that the children are not overwhelmed and still enjoy their childhood.