Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language as early as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In the digital age, societies believe that it is more beneficial for children to start learning an additional language at an early age. Others may argue that children should focus on their core subjects, build their social-skills, and learn an additional language later. However, I favor that there are two main merits if they learn it immediately, such as mastering the language quickly and opening the opportunity to participate at an international level.

The main reason for learning language since childhood is to become more fluent in that second language. Some experts believe that starting from home, parents can introduce the basics of foreign language that is most spoken around the world, for instance, English. The basics matter including learning the alphabet, reading the english books at bedtime, and listening to the english songs. Those simple activities can encourage children to learn English. As a consequence, like trial and error learning, children will become familiar with the alphabet, vocabulary, grammar, and then become fluent in speaking with others using English.

Another positive advantage for children is the chance for participating at an international level. Thanks to the globalization era that offers doors for children around the world to gain knowledge about other countries’ perspectives. Some famous activities which invite children from diverse backgrounds and nationalities to participate in are student exchange, globe competition, and online learning. Besides they can gain an international experience, those activities also assist them to build their soft-skills, such as critical and analytical thinking, leadership, time management, and empathy with others.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language not only increases language proficiency, but also brings the possibility of broad knowledge at a global level. Those advantages can be more possible if the parents and educational systems hand-in-hand to support the children in acquiring the additional language as soon as possible.