Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language as early as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Many people believe that a child should study to acquire a new language at an early age. Although there are certainly reasons to give time for children to develop their native language,It may not be efficient to achieve a certain level of foreign language proficiency for several reasons.

First and foremost, language acquisition can enhance brain development. It is better to introduce a child to a new language as early as possible to get cognitive advantage. Evidently, a study on cognitive psychology shows that bilingual children have a better academic score than their classmates. This proves that learning a new language can also benefit a child’s critical thinking, memory and understanding which also can benefit them to acquire other languages in a faster phase than regular people would.

Moreover, learning a foreign language can improve communicative skills to achieve fluency and cultural understanding. An interracial family definitely wants their child to comprehend the cultural values and norms of each of the parents. Being exposed to another language at an early stage can foster the child’s ability of native-like fluency and confidence to be able to have a conversation with other people from all walks of life. Additionally, he or she can be able to see a different perspective of cultural views that can benefit the future adaptation to a new environment.

In conclusion, It is sensible to say that I agree for the parents to teach their children to learn a new language for the purpose of improving their cognitive level and improving their communication skills. Therefore, it would improve the cultural understanding and empathy of the children that affects their adaptation to a new environment.