Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women. What is your opinion?

Gender equality is now become a debatable issue in society. While some believe this equality should be taken into account so women would be able to choose any job, others contend that men and women are physically inequal, and some specific jobs are not suitable for women. There are opinions on both sides and I personally support the former view for some reasons that I will elaborate more below.

On the one hand, proponents of gender equality argue that everyone has the same opportunities to pursue career regardless of the gender. This means that hiring employee should be based only on skills and performance, resulting in a fairness environment in society without biased towards a particular gender. Furthermore, they add that the equality could empower individuals to pursue their own interest without facing discrimination. Such empowerment may lead to greater participations in workforce, which contribute more to economic growth and development.

On the other hand, opponents of this view highlight the different physic features of men and women. For example, male’s body is generally taller and contain more muscle than female. Consequently, for such certain jobs as construction worker and heavy equipment operator, requiring more physical strength and endurance, men would be more suitable rather than women. Moreover, they contend that some specific industries such as mining and firefighting are more likely perceived as male-oriented workplace. Therefore, the workplace culture might be not welcoming or supportive for women.

Taken together, it is logically imperative to conclude that while gender equality is not applicable in certain works due to the physical differences surrounding the appearances of men and women, it seems to me that the professional and academic background of individuals should be the primary factors determining suitability for any job. Therefore, gender equality should be viewed as a fundamental principle that emphasize the right for all individuals to pursue their career.